​Modern and Classical Languages at Eaglecrest High School


Old-fashioned map of eastern hemisphere"A different language is a different vision of life" -Federico Fellini

 
Eaglecrest's World Languages curriculum focuses on meaningful language use and practice. The study of modern and classical languages is designed to help students use language to function effectively in both verbal and written contexts in the countries in which the language is spoken
 
You will learn a second language in exciting new ways, using technology and focusing on communication. Learning a language is not just learning grammar and vocabulary. It is learning new sounds, expressions, and ways of seeing things; it is learning how to act in another culture and how to know a new community from the inside.

Whatever language you choose, learning it will make a difference in how you see the world and in how the world sees you.  Studying a foreign language can improve your cognitive and critical thinking abilities.  A foreign language can improve your skills and grades in math and English and improve entrance exam scores on SAT's, ACT's, GRE's, MCAT's LSAT's. Research has shown that math and verbal SAT scores climb higher with each additional year of foreign language study.

No matter what career you choose, the more languages you know, the more opportunities are available to you.  Learning other languages allows you to communicate with people you otherwise would not have the opportunity to know. Studying a new language, communicating with people in their own language and learning about their cultures can be a source of both pleasure and personal enrichment.

​World Languages Staff

​​Jonathan OrrJonathan Orr
Department Coordinator
720-886-1158
jorr@cherrycreekschools.org

Tim Brennan Tim Brennan 

720-886-1159
tbrennan2@cherrycreekschools.org 

Julia Byers Julia Byers 

720-886-1336
jbyers4@cherrycreekschools.org 

Lisa Farley Lisa Farley 

720-886-1031
lfarley@cherrycreekschools.org

Kelsey Hinton Kelsey Hinton 

720-886-1269
khinton7@cherrycreekschools.org

Nalini Jewett Nalini Jewett 

720-886-1291
njewett@cherrycreekschools.org 

Cheyenne Kelton Cheyenne Kelton 

720-886-1269
ckelton​@cherrycreekschools.org

Kristen Kramer Kristen Kramer
720-886-1086

kkramer10@cherrycreekschools.org 

​Julie Marshall
Julie Marshall 

720-886-1087
jmarshall7@cherrycree​kschools.org

Edith Mestas
Edith Mestas

720-886-1159
emestas@cherrycreekschools.org

Rachel Sabre
Rachel Sabre
720-886-1245

rsabre@cherrycreekschools.org

Lorna Soto Lorna Soto
720-886-1000
lsoto6@cherrycreekschools.org
Laura WilliamsLaura Williams 

720-886-1089
lwilliams10@cherrycreekschools.org

Tiffany YontsTiffany Yonts 

720-886-1089
tyonts@CherryCreekSchools.org

Susan GarciaSusan Garcia 

World Languages T.A.
720-886-1222
sgarcia11@cherrycreekschools.org 
​ ​​

​​